Master Seam Ripper

Words and thought threads by SewZanne

Christmas Dress 2006

on January 6, 2007

I know, I know what I am doing showing a Christmas Dress I finished Dec 13th??? The Christmas stuff is already all packed away. What is it with me… after Dec. 26 and on, I don’t want to see another Christmas light or anything. I want it all packed away and cleaned up… I really love Christmas time, all the lights and decorations. But the next day I just want my house back.

Anyway back to sewing πŸ™‚ I have been totally un-inspired about creating. I need a new pattern to try… Maybe time to check out the Ottobre’s and get the seam ripper ready πŸ˜‰ I do believe it may be getting rusty. Poor thing πŸ™‚ I want to try new things… More with wovens and more time consuming projects. This falls into 2007 Goals ramblings…

Okay about the dress and jacket. I used some Baby Nay *Wildflowers* stretch poplin. I used a See & Sew pattern B4098. Simple to use pattern with nice clear instructions. I do like these patterns for classic styles. I never would have used them except my friend Meg, who does the podcast Material Mama, used one and liked it. It has very nice instructions for sewing in the zipper :)The collar is a bit big for the now styles, but I like the old fashioned-ness of it.

For the most part I only like to sew with European Patterns or Kwik Sew but I will always give a See & Sew or New Look a whirl.

I used the New Look Pattern 6551 for the lined bolero jacket. I used Joanns red veveteen and Baby Nay for the lining. I have used this pattern before and found it easy enough. Great pattern for someone wanting to make a girls jacket with out buttons or zippers.

I don’t really remember if I had to seam rip on this dress, but I do remember it felt like I gathered for days with the drindl skirt. (One long very wide piece)

Now, I’m going to move onto some fun, over-embellished clothing πŸ™‚

Suzanne

Leave a Reply

