Master Seam Ripper

Words and thought threads by SewZanne

To have Faith like a child

on January 11, 2008

I soooooo long to have childlike faith. In the last year of my walk with God.. my faith is weak and struggling.

We have changed churches(really hard to do after 9 years), have a struggling teen, loss of faith in the Ministry, money struggles, physical pain..and plain old life….

Today my oldest daughter was reading her Health questions out loud at the breakfast table.

The question was asked “If you have an elderly friend who needs medical attention, where should you send them to get help?”
My 5 year old faith filled daughter.. simply anwsered “Jesus” She completely believes..with her whole being:heart:
Today, I pray, that even though life is tearing me up…
I have prayed for healing and not seen it go “my way”..
…That just today, I can have the faith that my daughter does in the Lord.
5 responses to “To have Faith like a child

  1. shorty says:

    Oh my heart breaks for you. I know how you feel when it comes to changing churches. We have had to do the same thing this week! We have been there five and a half years. It is where my husband and son have been called to preach. Many many good men have come out of that church. I know that God is in total control. I know man is fallible and thus makes mistakes. I know that we can forgive those around us but at the same time we have to do as we feel lead to do no matter what. I will pray for you and your trials. I don’t like trials!hehe I know they grow us but they sure hurt. Keep on keeping on all the while God is holding your hand!Short

  2. Anonymous says:

    Suzanne, I will pray for you. I very much know what you are going through — we left our church of almost 8 years and I struggled through every Sunday for a long time — leaving friends, the pastor (even though we had tried to talk with him about our concerns), the ministries, and especially the older women who I had felt so mentored by. It was a very hard time. We are still struggling with finding a church, or actually have found a wonderful church, but it’s an hour away. Anyway, what I want to say to you is, be encouraged. The Lord is near, He loves you, and He will bring you through this time. There is nothing you can do or say that will make Him love you any less, and nothing you can do to make Him love you any more. He loves you where and as you are.Laurie

  3. Theresa says:

    How beautiful! My children are the same way and I marvel at it. No matter what things appear like on the outside or no matter what happens in church politics, remember God is never far away from you and He promises never to leave or forsake us. I think of Thomas saying “I believe Lord, help my unbelief” and I use that as an example during times where my emotions are strained and I do not “feel” very spiritual or close to God. I ask Him. He always answers. I think our faith walk with God is like a marriage. There are times when we *feel* more in love than others, but there is a constancy in the long haul. I hope you don’t mind me being frank with you as we dont’ know each other and I visit but don’t comment on your blog. As your sister in the Lord I couldn’t help but want to encourage you. I just stopped and prayed that He will make His presence known to you and fill you with Joy. May His peace be with you! Thanks for such a lovely blog!

  4. shorty says:

    I have just finished reading a book called A Tale of Three Kings by Gene Edwards. He has written several healing books. This one was a study in brokenness. I found it to be very good and didn’t know if it was something that might help you. I have not read the others here is what they are about… Letters to a devastated Christian, Healing for the Brokenhearted Exquisite Agony, Healing for Christians who have been hurt by other Christians The Prisoner in the third cell, comfort I do not know your beliefs and I do not know this authors but I do have to say the book I read was so very healing to both Hubs and I. I hope that you are doing wellShorty

  5. Tiffany says:

    (((Suzanne))) Haven’t talked to you in forever but we’re having some struggles here too. We’ve been in a church we love for 3 years and now might have to move away for awhile. 😦 I read a quote out of a book a couple of weeks ago that was SO impacting it’s been on my mind since. It was a prayer from a young teen and he said “Father, help me clear the platform of my life and to truly lay down my desires. Help me to be obedient without hesitation and to have the faith of those in Hebrews 11.” The “clear the platform of my life and truly lay down my desires” part has been my heartbeat lately.

Leave a Reply

