Master Seam Ripper

Words and thought threads by SewZanne

Picture Day

on September 25, 2010

“Hey Mom, tomorrow is picture day!”
Sudden panic, What?…tomorrow?…ack!….can’t be!
“What color?”
“Blue or Green”
I march out to the sewing room. Think what dress can I make in less then two hours. I am NOT a night time sewer. Sewing at night is a disaster waiting to happen.
I find a peasant dress pattern, okay I fess up it’s a nightgown peasant pattern. But I love the square neckline. It reminds me of Allison at Harmony Threads style..
It takes me at least 20 minutes just to choose which fabric to use. I have ooooodles of pink fabric. But Eliana decided she doesn’t want more pink dresses :(.
Finished it off with some pink ribbon. (I can’t help myself.)
Simple…fast….. and she loves it, even with the pink ribbon.

9 responses to “Picture Day

  1. Rebekah Schmitt says:

    Wow…you’re amazing! I *LOVE* the dress! So sweet! (And your model is pretty cute too!)

  2. Heather says:

    LOVE it! Perfect for Eliana, Leah would love it too. My goodness, picture day *always* creeps up, doesn’t it?

  3. Jaye says:

    Adorable dress and model! Good job! Can’t go wrong with pink for a girl till they are about 10-11, right? LOL

  4. Krista says:

    Oh I have so been there! Fabulous dress and a great color for Eliana (even though it’s not pink ๐Ÿ™‚
    One thing I love about peasant dresses is that they are perfect for everything.

  5. Elizabeth says:

    Dear Suzanne,
    This is so pretty. I have had trouble combining just the right fabric + pattern for my little daughter. Tell me please is this a knit or woven, and what kind of nightgown pattern? Thank Eliana for letting you post her photo, she is so pretty. If I think i can reproduce something like this, I shall show it to my 5 year old daughter, and she is sure to fall in love with Eliana. -Thanks, Elizabeth

  6. sewzannes says:

    Thanks Elizabeth
    The fabric is a knit, but I have used both wovens and knits with the pattern and the are both equally cute ๐Ÿ™‚
    The pattern is A See & Sew pattern. B5120.
    Have fun. Thanks again for commenting

Leave a Reply

