Master Seam Ripper

Words and thought threads by SewZanne

Slipcovered Chair

on February 14, 2011


My first attempt at my Goodwill chair, I bought 3 to work with…It’s not perfect,but remember I really don’t strive for that..My friend Heather calls it the school of good enough. I think I have a degree in that 😉
The fabric is some 4.00 a yard red tag from Joann’s Fabrics..I used some brown velvet ribbon at the bottom to cover the staples.
I made a pretty rough job at a slip cover.
The challenging part was trying to figure out the arms.. I have some staples I have to cover…
All in all I am pleased.. The chair I bought at Goodwill for 13.00 and the fabric cost 12.00.. So for 25.00 I have a comfy chair that is no longer purple zebra striped 😉

5 responses to “Slipcovered Chair

  1. seth ponek says:

    I’m impressed. I don’t have the patience for this… your determination is awesome. nice upgrade!

  2. angie says:

    wow! furniture covering is something i have not yet dared to venture into, looks fantastic!

  3. Cheryl says:

    What a transformation!! Awesome job Suz!! Can’t wait to sit it!! 🙂

  4. sewzannes says:

    thanks.. It was fun for the most part

  5. Janet says:

    Good job! I am really envious of ur talent and guts to try new things. I have been puttying off trying to make a slip cover for my sofa for ages. so far I don’t have the courage! I am queen of UFO un finished objects! lol
    janet

Leave a Reply

