Master Seam Ripper

Words and thought threads by SewZanne

Cool Curtain Rods

on October 7, 2012

Its been forever and a day since I blogged, Yada yada.. but I’m back 🙂

After finding black mold [ewww] in my room, I was on a vengence to clean and repaint. But then that meant I needed new curtains and curtain rods. Of course what does a crafter do, but instantly search the web for cool curtain rod ideas.

I found this tutorial at www.Meganbrookehandmadeblog.com
Thanks Megan 🙂
I didn’t want to buy distressed door knobs, when I live close to a salvage yard. I bought old brass knobs for 2.00 each.

old brass door knobs

Next I spray painted them with Rust-Oleum Universal Metallic Oil Rubbed Bronze. It’s an almost black color.
Then I painted them with a flat white paint using a chip brush
Here is a picture of all the plumbing parts my hubby Seth picked out to make the rods (not pictured) galvanized rods also painted with the Oil Rubbed Bronze paint, but not white and distressed. Why? I dunno call it creative license.
Okay, you see the cool decorative round thingies? They are old parts to the door knobs, the round part on the door, look at your door you’ll see them. Anyway, I found them at the salvage yard. And WHOOOP they fit perfectly over the round plumbing thingies my husband bought.

So, we painted everything with spray paint, painted it white,

then distressed with steel wool.
The hanging of the rods was the challenging part. I will let Seth jump in here and describe that process. I just stood there and smiled and nodded.

The finished product.

Finished knobs and covers

Done 🙂

Tada

Thanks for looking, Let me know if you have made something similar, I’d love to hear about it
Thanks
Happy sewing, crafting and creating
Suzanne

2 responses to “Cool Curtain Rods

  1. Megan Brooke says:

    Your curtain rod turned out awesome Suzanne! So glad my curtain rod was a source of inspiration 🙂

    I’m also not good at hanging so I admit I had some assistance as well if it makes you feel better 😉

    Hope you had a good weekend!

  2. sewzannes says:

    Thanks so much Megan. Your post was great inspiration!

Leave a Reply

